kiki_eng: text: "i ate ALL your bees" (Black Books) ("I ate all your bees.")
[personal profile] kiki_eng
The Jonas Brothers waited until I was done with Femslash February* to release a new single, Sucker, after teasing it on Carpool Karaoke with James Cordon.

The Jonas Brothers were how I got into bandom, and I watched a lot of random episodes of JONAS (at questionable hours, mainly), and the Camp Rocks along with a couple music videos. I remember the acting as kind of delightful and the music as kind of terrible, and the fact that I have those kinds of opinions is very non-typical for me for a fandom; most of the time I never touch the canon. So I have clearly been fannish about these people.

Skippy and these three were probably my main fandom for a while, even, and the new music video is not great**, but it has Kevin riding something sheep-like and in a sequin suit, implications of voyeurism in Nick's relationship, Joe in suspension that looks kinda inadvisable as a long-term thing, and general rich person shenanigans with their wives including butlers and so many macarons. I feel like I should be excited but I just feel a kind of sad nostalgia for fannish times of yore.

Everyone is married now and Kevin has a tattoo so clearly they're not Disney Kids anymore. (There's some kind of alcohol sponsorship in the video, also.) I'm not sure that there would be an appropriate acting vehicle available for them now that would make me happy, or even what would make me happy. (Faux tour doc with a buddy-cop feel and a retro vibe maybe? IDK. Hallmark, probably, because that's pretty clearly the adult version of the Disney Channel.)

I'm disappointed there wasn't, like, an alpaca and a bathtub full of croissants*** in this. I miss the absurdity. There were pool chairs indoors for no reason and an excess of rabbits and a tea party with a congo line and a pointless TV display and ridiculous hats and I feel nothing. I think they've lost that caricature element that they had?

I miss it and I am full of this fierce longing for times gone by and the fannish moment that was Skippy and I don't think this is a feeling that I've had before. I feel like someone remade my show and I don't like it, only it's RPF, so IDK. I've never been a fan of their music, though, so I am not entirely sure how I managed to have expectations for them to disappoint? *hands*

Do other people have similar tales of sad-tinged fannish nostalgia or a take on the Jobros thing?

*which was a thing that I observed the letter more than the spirit of as I seem to be on a general fanwork hiatus right now; every fanwork I consumed in February was female-centric gen or femslash. I think I watched two vids total, though, and I suspect March will be pretty similar.
**I think it's better than their old stuff, though, so there's that. Also I've been watching, like, Beyoncé recently, and that is a bar they will never approach. IT IS AN EXTREMELY GENERIC AND PERFECTLY ADEQUATE POP MUSIC VIDEO. (Let's go have some fun and shoot it in a fancy manor like a Taylor Swift video they said, awesome they said, and then executed it with no real artistic direction.)
***I feel like a bathtub full of croissants would be a series of terrible sensations and also that it and the alpaca sound more like a Fall Out Boy video, but still.


ETA: There is a director's cut now and it is significantly better.

(no subject)

Date: 2019-03-01 07:09 pm (UTC)
sylvaine: Dark-haired person with black eyes & white pupils. (Default)
From: [personal profile] sylvaine
When any of the remaining bandom bands put out something new and I can't even summon up vague interest. :( *hugs*

(no subject)

Date: 2019-03-03 12:10 pm (UTC)
sylvaine: Dark-haired person with black eyes & white pupils. (Default)
From: [personal profile] sylvaine
Hmm, that is kind of true, yeah. Why am I not suprised that FOB and PATD went mainstream and MCR went and ended the band instead? *g*

(no subject)

Date: 2019-03-04 02:47 am (UTC)
thewrongkindofpc: ryan ross in dark glasses, in a car with a cat on his shoulder (Default)
From: [personal profile] thewrongkindofpc
Faux tour doc with a buddy-cop feel and a retro vibe maybe? THIS

I haven't seen the new video yet, and while I intend to, this is a good warning to go in with (the absurdity was SO GOOD. stop taking yourselves so seriously, JoBros, I loved you goofy!!)

(no subject)

Date: 2019-03-04 07:34 pm (UTC)
thewrongkindofpc: ryan ross in dark glasses, in a car with a cat on his shoulder (Default)
From: [personal profile] thewrongkindofpc
hmmmmm, noted! Guess I'll just have to check it out for myself!

(no subject)

Date: 2019-03-05 12:05 pm (UTC)
thewrongkindofpc: ryan ross in dark glasses, in a car with a cat on his shoulder (Default)
From: [personal profile] thewrongkindofpc
ahhhhhhhhhhhhh, yeah the hype on twitter is starting to get to me, def setting aside some time tonight to really get into it!

Profile

kiki_eng: two bats investigating plants against the night sky (Default)
kiki-eng

December 2025

S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
212223 24252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags